• Find a Legal Event
Expert Witnesses

Same-Sex Marriage, Civil Unions, and Domestic Partnerships: Benefits Plan Design & Litigation Issues

 March 14, 2012


Location


90-Minute Teleconference
1:00-2:30 pm ET / 12:00-1:30 pm CT / 11:00 am-12:30 pm MT / 10:00-11:30 am PT
Nationwide, District of Columbia 20005
USA

Description


Moderator: Denise M. Clark, Clark Law Group, PLLC, Washington, DC

Speakers: Howard Bye-Torre, Stoel Rives LLP, Seattle, WA; Ronald Triche, Trucker Huss APC, San Francisco, CA; Nina Wasow, Lewis, Feinberg, Lee, Renaker & Jackson, PC, Oakland, CA

Civil marriage, civil unions, and other forms of state relationship recognition for same-sex couples pose significant challenges for ERISA plans and plan participants, particularly in navigating the conflicts between state and federal law – including the controversial Defense of Marriage Act – and what rights are available under ERISA and the Internal Revenue Code, if any. The panel will discuss the following topics:

•State-mandated benefits, imputed income, and other issues for health and welfare plans
•QDROs, QJSAs, QPSAs, and other pension plan issues
•Impact of state community property law on welfare and pension plans
•Litigation pitfalls in participant communications and benefits claims

Organized by


American Bar Association Joint Committee on Employee Benefits
740 15th Street, NW
Washington, District of Columbia 20005
United States of America

More Information


Event's Website




Find a Local Lawyer