District of Columbia Judicial Branch

  • District of Columbia Courts

    The D.C. Courts, the judicial branch of the District of Columbia government, are comprised of the Court of Appeals, the highest court of the District; the Superior Court of the District of Columbia, a trial court with general jurisdiction over virtually all local legal matters; and the Court System, which provides administrative support functions for both Courts. The Joint Committee on Judicial Administration is the policy-making body for the D.C. Courts.

  • Federal Judicial Center

    The Federal Judicial Center is the research and education agency of the federal judicial system. The many specific statutory duties of the Center and its Board fall into a few broad categories: conducting and promoting orientation and continuing education and training for federal judges, court employees, and others; developing recommendations about the operation and study of the federal courts; and conducting and promoting research on federal judicial procedures, court operations, and history.

  • Federal Judiciary Rules & Policies

    Federal court rules and policies are essential to carrying out the mission of the federal Judiciary. The national policy-making body for the federal courts, the Judicial Conference of the United States, the federal rules of practice that are used in all federal courts, and the Code of Conduct for judges, which addresses matters of judicial ethics are all essential to court operations and maintaining a fair and impartial federal judiciary.

  • Federal Magistrate Judges Association

    The Federal Magistrate Judges Association is the professional association for magistrate judges. A United States Magistrate Judge is a federal trial judge appointed to serve in a United States district court for a term of eight years.

  • Judicial Panel on Multidistrict Litigation

    The job of the United States Judicial Panel on Multidistrict Litigation (MDL Panel) is to (1) determine whether civil actions pending in different federal districts involve one or more common questions of fact such that the actions should be transferred to one federal district for coordinated or consolidated pretrial proceedings; and (2) select the judge or judges and court assigned to conduct such proceedings.

  • Online System for Clerkship Application and Review

    OSCAR is the central online resource for federal law clerk and appellate court staff attorney hiring. OSCAR’s extensive set of features allows users to easily manage every aspect of the hiring process, and a real-time web environment fosters quality communication between judges or staff attorney office and applicants.

  • United States Sentencing Commission

    The U.S. Sentencing Commission is an independent agency. Its principal purposes are: (1) to establish sentencing policies and practices for the federal courts, including guidelines to be consulted regarding the appropriate form and severity of punishment for offenders convicted of federal crimes; (2) to advise and assist Congress and the executive branch in the development of effective and efficient crime policy; and (3) to collect, analyze, research, and distribute a broad array of information on federal crimes and sentencing issues, serving as an information resource for Congress, the executive branch, the courts, criminal justice pratitioners, the academic community, and the public.

District of Columbia Boards and Commissions

  • Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission

    The Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission (ASMFC) serves as a deliberative body, coordinating the conservation and management of the states shared near shore fishery resources – marine, shell, and anadromous – for sustainable use. Commissioners participate in the deliberations in the ASMFC’s five main policy arenas: Interstate fisheries management, research and statistics, fisheries science, habitat conservation, and law enforcement.

  • Federal Mine Safety and Health Review Commission Published Decisions

    Commission Decisions. ALJ Decisions.

  • Gulf States Marine Fisheries Commission (GSMFC)

    The Gulf States Marine Fisheries Commission is empowered to make recommendations to the governors and legislatures of the five Gulf States regarding the management of the fisheries. In addition, the Commission advises the United States Congress and may testify on legislation and marine policies that affect the Gulf.

  • National Capital Planning Commission

    The National Capital Planning Commission is the federal government’s planning agency for the National Capital Region. The 12-member Commission meets monthly to adopt, approve, or provide advice on plans and projects that impact the nation's capital and surrounding areas.

  • Pacific States Marine Fisheries Commission (PSMFC)

    The Pacific States Marine Fisheries Commission (PSMFC) helps resource agencies and the fishing industry sustainably manage our valuable Pacific Ocean resources in a five-state region. PSMFC’s primary goal is to promote and support policies and actions to conserve, develop, and manage fishery resources in California, Oregon, Washington, Idaho and Alaska. They accomplish this through coordinating research activities, monitoring fishing activities, and facilitating a wide variety of projects.

Find a Lawyer

Find a Local Lawyer